#38: Remembering Where We’ve Been (Because It Really Is Amazing)

Given that I write a blog about the subject, this statement may seem obvious–but I love talking about missions.  Honestly, there are few topics of conversation that will make me light up faster than when someone asks about my time on the field.

It’s not because it gives me an opportunity to brag about how exciting my life has been.  Rather, it’s because–even after more than five years off the conventional mission field–something about missions still lights a fire in my bones.  For six years of my life, it was literally my job to travel the world and tell people about the God who made them, and who loves them so much that He sent His Son to redeem them.  Even though my day-to-day looks different now, at my core I still identify as a missionary.

And why wouldn’t I?  For me, this is a very deeply personal matter.  My parents met through Teen Missions International.  My Dad would go on short-term trips every year while I was growing up, I spent my early teenage years overseas with my family, and my wife and I met on the mission field.  I couldn’t run away from it, even if I wanted to.  Missions is in my DNA.

There’s something about the missionary vocation that grafts itself onto one’s identity more than any other job.  Maybe it’s because it’s almost always in response to something that was already there–the impetus to answer a call.  Or maybe it’s connected to the fact that travel outside of our comfort zone, whether it’s to the other side of the world or the bad side of town, fundamentally alters one’s outlook on life.  A missionary upon his or her return is a changed person.

A few weeks ago I wrote about the things I don’t miss.  The gist of that article was that we shouldn’t over-glorify the experiences we’ve had in comparison to what we’re now going through; that struggles were real for us on the field, just as they are now.  But often, truth comes in complimentary pairs, like bumpers in a bowling alley.  Today I want to encourage you to remember the best things about your time serving the Lord in missions.

It’s important that we do this.  We must not allow the everyday stuff of life to drown out the adventures that God has taken us on.  We have a responsibility to remember what He’s done in our lives, and how He’s used us to bless others.

During my recent unemployment, I had more than a few moments of doubt regarding my life choices–and again, I’ve written about this before.  At one point, wondering whether I would ever get a decent job without a college degree, I asked God in frustration if it was all really worth it.

Then I happened to look at the map hanging on our living room wall.

I thought of all of the places He had allowed me to go, and all of the people He had sent me to minister to.  There’s nothing all that special about me, I thought, but what a privilege it’s been to do that!

The Creator of the universe has allowed us to take part in His work.  Yes, it was worth it; and we should never forget about the faithfulness of God displayed to us through our time of service.

Occasionally, you may be tempted to think of your tenure as a missionary in another light.  Maybe you feel like it was a nice thing you did once.  Or worse, you might wonder if it was all a useless waste of time.  It’s even possible that the people around you might express those views to your face.

It’s hard to keep the right perspective on the choices you’ve made when situations get rough, when people at your church talk about your missionary service like it was a vacation, or when you feel pressured to get a “real” job.  But never forget, you didn’t answer the call for the sake of a well-paying career, or for kudos from your family.  You did it because Jesus said to go, and you went.  And the fact that Jesus cares enough about any one of us to involve us in His work is astounding.

Today, I want us to remember our proudest moments–not to boast before man, but to boast in the Lord.  I want us to think about the moments that made us who we are–the lost and downtrodden we’ve prayed for, the miracles we’ve seen, the places we’ve been, and the forever-friends we’ve made along the way.  Most of all, I want us to remember the fact that God has entrusted us with His work of redemption.  We’ve taken up the call, and the simple fact that many of us have moved into a new season doesn’t mean that we’ve abandoned it.  It still rings true to us.

I want to encourage you to take a moment and boast in the Lord.  You’re among friends; please, take a moment and comment about your fondest memories of your time on the field.  If you prefer, you can do it anonymously; but I want for us to rejoice together in the memory of what the Lord has done both in and through us.  And I want us all to remember that, no matter where we find ourselves today, He’s not finished with us yet.

Talk about this!